Disruption Review

disruptionTitle: Disruption

Author: Jessica Shirvington

Genre: YA/Sci-Fi

Publication Date: 1st April 2014

Publisher: Harper Collins Australia

Reminds me of: a tinge of The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey but it’s pretty original

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match?
What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loves most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it.

Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer – heir to the M-Corp empire – has become key to Maggie’s plan. But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for?

In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking. Goodreads

Shame on me, but before the Harper Collins Between the Covers event I hadn’t even heard of Disruption. I was so happy I took note of my favourite books that night and lucky for me Disruption was on that rather extensive list! What brought it to the top of my TBR list was hearing Jessica speak that night. She spoke with such a genuine passion about her books and writing, plus the enthusiasm she shared with her fans was awesome. Plus, you know, she’s Aussie… (I’m not biased I swear).

tumblr_inline_mi40iqk6gE1qjsnem

I adored Disruption. I had my e-reader glued to me while reading it because I HAD to take every free chance I got to sneak a few pages in. I almost missed my stop on the train home I got that into it. What I loved best is probably not something everyone appreciates. For me I love action and speed and plot and suspense. There’s a heap of it all in Disruption. The imagery and daintiness isn’t there but that’s fine by me. It’s the perfect escapist read fuelled by its fast paced style. Since I read a digital copy I couldn’t believe how thick the physical copy of the book was – I was so absorbed I always lost track of time.

The technology in the book is terrifying. The M-bands sound like a cross between a smart phone and a Fit Bit with the functionality of Tinder but on crack. To completely abandon your partner if your M-band advises you so is the norm… but imagine that! Basing your personal relationships on a piece of technology? Are we not that far off?

romanceadventuretime

What did I think about Quentin? Beautiful, rich and seemingly perfect Quentin. He was a bit of a heartthrob and I did melt a little at his cheesy I love you moments. But what I thought topped it off was that our KICK ASS HEROINE was the one calling all the shots. She was blackmailing him, controlling him and manipulating him which is a pretty shitty foundation for a relationship but I was so excited that role finally went to a female. She was the one with the secrets and the strength and that made it all SO much better. AND there’s a male-female FRIENDSHIP. Although Maggie is technically blackmailing Gus, a friendship has undeniably formed there. And it’s not the type where they’re secretly pining after each other, or one has friendzoned the other, they’re legitimately FRIENDS.

friendshipnewgirl

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I recommend Disruption to every YA fan out there even though you’ve all probably read it seeing my TBR list is taller than me so I’m way behind. Let me know your thoughts on Disruption and Corruption if you’ve read them. I’m definitely on the lookout for opinions on the sequel!

One thought on “Disruption Review

  1. Great review! I’ve never heard of this book before, but it seems interesting. Those M Bands seem pretty creepy, though. HAHA I love your use of gifs here 🙂

Leave a Reply

