This caught my eye…

I came across this little beauty this week and it really caught my eye. Partly because it’s advice from one of my favourite authors, so of course anything he says is gold. But because it really set me back a notch and helped me to relax about my own writing.

“Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.”

– Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

When I write these days it’s usually for uni and for the marker. I end up writing what I think is expected of me instead of what I actually want to be voicing. The gratification comes in what mark I receive, not how my reader has received my piece. So I’m going to attempt to take onboard King’s advice and write purely to make me happy.

I started back up at uni this week and to my delight I’m undertaking two creative writing classes! I’m in my element really. However, the writing and volume levels have virtually doubled because I’m taking double the writing classes I normally would. This week we’re studying Pride and Prejudice as an example of the romance genre. I’m not very keen to admit, but I’ve only made it halfway through the book in previous attempts. This time round, however, I’m putting my heart and soul into finishing it! It’s actually a lot funnier than what I remembered. Give it a go if you haven’t yet and let me know what you think!

I’d like to share with you the writing prompt I was given in class:

Concentrating on the idea of journey, write a short narrative piece utilising a character, setting or theme from any of the following genres: romance, fantasy, children’s, humour or crime.

Consider the interior life of the character and/or place and setting as much as the physical landscape and the purpose of the journey.

 I’m still uncertain about which avenue I’m going to take for this prompt, but if I’m writing to make me happy, it very well may be a piece on my mental journey to psyching myself up to actually going to the gym. Only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

